Dvořák's New World Symphony

May 3, 2019, 7:00 PM.

Academy Center of the Arts
Historic Theatre

Aaron Garber, conducting

The first half of the concert features the LSO performing two familiar movie themes composed by John Williams – Flight to Neverland (from Hook) and Adventures on Earth (from E.T.)

Also during the first part of the concert, the Jefferson Choral Society will perform three numbers starting with Homeward Bound, followed by the familiar folk tune Shenandoah. The third selection includes You’ll Never Walk Alone and Climb Every Mountain, which is a medley of famous pieces from two different musicals. Baritone Philip Bouknight will be the featured soloist.

Antonin Dvořák’s best known work, New World Symphony, will headline the second half of the concert. The work was premiered in 1893 in Carnegie Hall. Inspired by Native American and African-American musical features, it was Dvořák’s desire to create a new national style of art music for the U.S.

Ticket prices (plus venue fee):
Adults (tiered seating): $20, $25, $30
Student or child: $15 off any seat

Aaron Garber

Mr. Garber serves as Music Director of the Jefferson Choral Society and Director of Music Ministry at Trinity Ecumenical Parish. He has twice appeared as guest conductor of the Lynchburg Symphony Orchestra. Mr. Garber has conducted throughout Europe, and is published by Concordia Publishing House and Augsburg Fortress.